The MAP Education & Research Foundation’s Sexual Tipping Point Award is presented at select professional society meetings in recognition of an excellent accepted abstract submission and presentation most consistent with the Foundation’s Biomedical-Psychosocial & Cultural Approach to the understanding, diagnosis and treatment of sexual disorders. In addition to recognizing the below STP Award winners, the Foundation also provides support to other Foundations that encourage recognition of our Biomedical-Psychosocial & Cultural Model of care, including but not limited to the Weill Cornell Medicine’s “E. Darracott Vaughan Fund of Brady Urology” and the SMSNA Foundation.



A 2019 Sexual Tipping Point Award Certificate was presented to Serge Carrier, MD for his work in organizing a superb interdisciplinary meeting as Program Chair and $1000 prize was granted to the SMSNA Foundation in his honor at the Annual Meeting at the AUA of the Sexual Medicine Society of North America, in Chicago, May, 2019.

Screen Shot 2019-07-06 at 3.33.15 PM.png

A 2019 Sexual Tipping Point Award Certificate and $1000 prize was presented Marianne Girard, B.A. for her paper, “Is My Sex Life OK? The Mediating Role of Sexual Anxiety in the Association Between Child Sexual Abuse and Sexual Coercion Against Women,” at the Annual Meeting of the Society of Sex Therapy & Research in Toronto, Canada, April 2019.

Screen Shot 2019-07-06 at 3.11.02 PM.png
2019 Girard STP Award.png

A 2019 Sexual Tipping Point Award Certificate and $1000 prize was presented to William Fisher, Ph.D et al at the Joint Meeting of the International Society of Sexual Medicine and the International Society for the Study of Women’s Sexual Health held in Atlanta, Georgia on March 8, 2019. The winning presentation “Impact of ED, and Treatment of ED, on Female Sexual Function: Results of the Strike Up a Conversation, Females, and Partner Satisfaction Research Programs was selected during a “blind review” by the Societies’ determined committee of Rose Hartzell-Cushanick, PhD, EdS, CHES, LMFT(ISSWSH); Kwangsung Park, MD, PhD(ISSM); and Michael A. Perelman, Ph.D.( Dr. Fisher’s co-authors on the abstract were Michael Sand, Ph.D, Raymond C. Rosen, Ph.D. and Irwin Goldstein, MD.



Jennifer Bossio’s presentation to the Annual Meeting of the Society for Sex Therapy & Research (SSTAR) in Philadelphia PA on “Mindfulness-Based Group Therapy Manual to Improve Couples’ Intimacy After Prostate Cancer Treatment,”  was judged the winner by an Award committee consisting of SSTAR members which included Lisa Anllo, Ph.D, Elizabeth Grill Psy.D. and Michael A. Perelman PhD.


Adithya Balasubramanian's (a 3rd year medical student at Baylor College of Medicine) presentation on “Characterization of Patient Attitudes Towards Testicular Prosthesis Placement After Orchiectomy,”  was judged the winner by an Award committee consisting of SMSNA members which included Alexander Patuszak, MD (Program Committee Chair), Daniela Whitman, Ph.D., MSW (Mental Health Committee Chair) and Michael A. Perelman PhD (Foundation Chair). In addition to the certificate of merit, Adithya received a $1000 monetary prize, which will be offered again next year at the 2019 SMSNA meeting in Nashville, Tennessee.